SPL offers three awards. The Distinguished Psychologist Award, the Early Career Woman Psychologist in Leadership Award, and the Richard Kilburg Service Award.


The Distinguished Psychologist in Leadership Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the practice of leadership by a psychologist. It was created to recognize individual accomplishments in fulfilling the purpose of the Society of Psychologists in Leadership (SPL), which is to facilitate the growth, development, and interaction of psychologists who work as managers, or who otherwise contribute to the application of psychology in management.

The award is presented to an individual who has developed, refined, and implemented practices, procedures, and methods that have a major impact on people in organizational settings and/or on the professions of leadership.

The award includes an honorarium, a plaque and an invited address at SPL's Annual Conference.

The recipient must be a psychologist and leader (or one who has made major contributions to psychology and leadership). Membership in the American Psychological Association or the American Psychological Society is highly desirable as evidence of commitment to the science and practice of psychology.


2023 John Reed, PhD




2022 Greg Pennington, PhD



2021 Dee Ramsel, PhD




2020 I. Marlene Thorn, PhD

 2019 Sandra L. Shullman, PhD

2018 Cathleen Civiello, PhD                     

 2017 Terry Maple, PhD

 2016 E. Kevin Kelloway, PhD

 2015 William H. Mobley, PhD  2014 Connie Rath, PhD
2013 Judith Albino, PhD  2012 Arthur M. Freedman, PhD  2011 Dale Thompson, PhD

 2010 David Baker, PhD

 2009 Norman Anderson, PhD  2008 Robert "Bob" Lee, PhD

 2007 Al Parchem, PhD

 2006 David P. Campbell, PhD

 2005 Richard C. Atkinson, PhD
2004 Eric Haseltine, PhD

 2003 Miriam Graddick-Weir, PhD  
 2002 Richard Kilburg, PhD
 2001 Tom Osborne, PhD (Congressman)  2000 Marilyn Gowing, PhD  1999 Donald Clifton, PhD

 1998 Bernard Bass, PhD  1997 Carl F. Frost, PhD 1996 Joyce Shields, PhD

 1995 William Howell, PhD

  1995 William Howell, PhD

  1994 Harold Tragash, PhD

 1993 Francis D. Horowitz, PhD

 1992 William C. Byham, PhD
  1991 John Conger, PhD
 1990 Kenneth E. Clark, PhD
 1989 Robert Perloff, PhD
 1988 Raymond Fowler, PhD
 1987 Charles Kiesler, PhD 1986 Douglas Bray, PhD   1985 Harry Levinson, PhD


The purpose of the Early Career Woman Psychologist in Leadership Award is to ensure that women leaders, and consultants are actively involved in SPL activities. The award is established to sponsor a deserving woman psychologist in attending the SPL conferences and institutes. The award will include $2000 to support the cost of conference registration, hotel, airfare, and institutes as desired. The recipient will also receive a complimentary one-year SPL membership. Award recipients will be requested to write a short testimonial about their conference and experience with SPL and provide a photo to feature on the SPL website. At this time, we are looking for self nominations or nominations from SPL members for a woman psychologist who meets the following criteria:

  • Has the potential to benefit from SPL and to make contributions to SPL and its mission of facilitating the growth, development, and interaction of psychologists who work as managers
  • Has received a doctoral degree in psychology within the last ten years
  • Is currently serving in a management or leadership position





2022 Vivien Lee, PhD





2021 Candice Schaefer, PhD, AB  





2020 Mira Brancu, PhD

2015 Melissa Jents, PsyD      

 2014 Myranda Grahek, PhD 

2013 Jennifer Geimer, PhD   

 2012 Jennifer Nguyen, PhD




The Richard Kilburg Service Award is given, from time to time, to a SPL member who has demonstrated an unusual level of service and commitment, dedicating extraordinary time and effort to the goals, purposes and activities of the organization. The award is named for SPL's first president.

al hollenbeck
2007 AL Hollenbeck, PhD 
For Exceptional Service as creator of the SPL website and subsequent webmaster, 1999 -2006, as well as manager of elections, online surveys, and general advisor on all things technical.

david brandt
2004 David Brandt, PhD
In Recognition of Exceptional Service as SPL Coordinator of Continuing Education, 1996-2004.

rodney lowman
2002 Rodney L. Lowman, PhD
In Recognition of Exceptional Service as Founding Editor of The Psychologist- Manager Journal, 1997-2002.